Thankful – Grateful – Blessed

Happy and Blessed Sunday morning to you all!!!

How very grateful I am that I can say that so freely and boldly! I had such an incredible ah ha moment this morning that hit me like a ton of bricks about how fortunate we are to live the lifestyle that we do! I am one very blessed Rodeo Mom!!

Our church had a special speaker in this morning who was from Iran. She spoke of the oppression and tyranny that Muslim women experience in Iran. They are not allowed to express their opinions, they are not allowed even to laugh out loud or dress colorfully. She spoke of how the Christian faith is growing in Iran; but, that the growth is secretive through home churches and underground churches because of the laws against Christians there. Every time there is a home meeting, there is a chance that you may be caught.

In addition, women are not celebrated at all. They are not allowed to pick their own spouses. Often are beaten for the sake of beating. The life these women are exposed to is nearly unfathomable.

My heart hurt for them. I also felt a great deal of remorse for some of the words I say and actions I display because I’m free to do as I please here in America. As a Rodeo Mom, I’m often cheering the loudest for my kids. I speak my mind to my husband regardless of whether he wants to hear it or not. And who’s with me on, we, Rodeo Mom’s, can pick and choose the blingiest of blingy clothing out there? We also have the ability to get up and attend church in our home communities and rodeo Cowboy Churches anytime we want; but, frequently don’t because our beds have called our names to stay in just a wee bit longer or any other excuse we can come up with.

I think all too often we take for granted the freedoms that we have here. We grumble far too often for the things we think we don’t have or are missing out on. We fuss over little things that people like those in Iran would love to have just a small morsel of.

I ask that you take a moment this morning and every morning to close your eyes, give thanks for your freedoms, your troubles and for your abundant blessings because we have far more than so many others in the world around us!!

Be blessed!!

Rodeo Mom’s Morning Reflections

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started